Study medicine abroad in english Medical jobs in Germany Study medicine in europe in english veterinary medicine universities

Medical specialisation and training in UK

Medical specialisation and training in UK require General Medical Council (GMC) medical licence. The basic requirement is to have at least first medical diploma valid in UK.
The GMC Medical Licence is necessary for all doctors in the UK regardless of whether they are working in the National Health Service (NHS) or independent sector, on a full or part time, permanent or locum basis, either they are British or International Medical Graduates (IMGs).
It also applies to all levels of registration, whether provisional, full or on the specialist or general practitioner (GP).

Registration to General Medical Council in UK

There are four routes to GMC registration:

  • Professional and Linguistic Assessments Board test (PLAB);
  • Sponsorship through a recognised body such as the RCP;
  • Acceptable Postgraduate qualification;
  • Certification of eligibility for specialist registration (CESR);

Specialization and training in UK

Medical Specialization and Training in UK starts after getting 5 or 6 year diploma of Medicine at medical school and then undertake a two year foundation training program (Foundation Program), which exposes prospective specialists to a range of specialties and placements designed to meet the requirements of the UK nationally approved Foundation curriculum.

The length of medical specialization training (including General Practice –GP- training) in UK varies depending on the speciality. As example, in generally, GP training takes 3 years to complete, although more generally, specialty training will last at least 5 years.

For Medical specialisation in UK, training consists of 2 years core training and 3 or more years advanced training, leading to Certificate of Completion of Training (CCT) in the chosen specialty and to the eligibility to enter the General Medical Council’s (GMC) specialist or GP register.

Specialization and training in UK are undertaken in National Health Service (NHS) employment and so the trainer specialist is paid during the training period.


  • General Medicine: 4-(graduate) & 6-year program
  • Veterinary Medicine: 6-year program
  • Dentistry: 5 to 6-year program
  • Pharmacy: 5 to 6-year program
  • Nursing: 3 to 4-year program
  • Physiotherapy: 3 to 4-year program
  • Medical specialisation: 3 to 6-year program
  • Etc.

Leading to qualifications approved by GMC, GDC, RCVS,
HCPC, NMC in UK and recognised in all over the world.


Phone: +40733811711; +40760100128